Ouzo Museum “Varvagiannis”
The Varvagiannis Museum is located in Plomari. It is in front of the ouzo distilleries of the Varvagiannis factory, the 1st km on the provincial road Plomari – Mytilene, heading to Agios Isidoros. Walk to the Museum by taxi or bus. There is a car park next to the Museum (no extra charge).
Technology coexists with the history and tradition even today in the picturesque Plomari. Next to the modern, privately owned distilleries of Varvagiannis is the Museum of Ouzo of the family Varvagiannis.
The museum exhibits the first tools that were used for bottling and pasting the famous blue label and the first boiler was built in 1858 in Istanbul, which tested tips and techniques for centuries until the recipes of the family Varvagiannis were born.
The Ouzo Museum devoutly embraces tradition and hosts the secret that continues to give quality and taste in the Ouzo Varvagiannis.
Olive – Museum “Aegean Gold”
In the factory in Trigona we cared to preserve the old culture in a museum and to marry her with the most modern technology available in olive factory. There is our Museum «PAST AND PRESENT » all year round with guided tours in English and German and simultaneous videos.
Visitors can develop a complete picture of the trip of the olive, from early times until today.
Taste the AEGEAN GOLD and BIOLOGICAL AEGEAN GOLD and if you wish buy the products. In 2004, the family Protouli acquired the second olive press in the village of Trigona, just before Plomari. It is one of the oldest olive presses founded in 1928 by a family of American expatriates.
The mechanical equipment is from the latest generation with a capacity of 4.5 ton. /h with 20 checking points for the final product, ensuring athermic treatment. It has stainless tanks capacity of 400tons and controlled temperature .
St. Nicholas Cathedral
This is an impressive Lesbian three-aisled basilica that was created in 1847, as we know from an inscription. It retained the designation as metropolitan of this period, which established Plomari as Episkopis of the Metropolis of Mytilene.
The most impressive feature is the decoration of the roof, running the usual motifs of the season, but it stands for the harmony of colors and a bit special. The roof of the central aisle of the nave is vaulted and decorated with the twelve apostles, portrayed in full length. In the center of the roof Christ has been executed as the Pantocrator, but not in a normal form, but in full length to show “the cloud from the sky” surrounded by cherubim. The sanctuary roof pitch is an excellent cosmetic plaster decorative circular area in the center of which is distinguished embossed dove, symbol of the Holy Spirit.
The tomb of the Bishop of Larissa Annan is in the courtyard, one of the most important juveniles of Plomari.
Church of Virgin Kripti
The church is hidden entirely on a large rock cave located 10 km from Plomari. The best way to visit it, is to get there by sea with the help of a boat, alternatively you have to follow a path for approximately 3 kilometers west of the Melinda Beach.
It is a unique landscape with steep rocks where according to tradition, in a rock groove, refuge of a mother with her child chased by Turkish took place and they gave the Virgin Mary the promise to make a church in the cave. From early times, the inhabitants of Plomari and surrounding areas went to venerate the image of the Virgin Mary and to be cured of rheumatism in the mineral waters that gush from the southwest of the bay.
Plane tree of Plomari
The old aged plane tree of Plomari is situated in the old quarter of “Archontomachala” near the church of St. Nicholas. Today, with its rich foliage it casts a shadow across the square, which is the old tourist center. There are taverns and cafes and organized music evenings every summer.
It says the plane tree was planted in 1813 and they built the hotel and the café in the region Emmanouil l Xyptera and also a fountain. A second perennial plane tree in Plomari is opposite of the Folklore Museum and the old fountain, which was created in 1817 by Toparchis of Mytilene Kolaxiz Zades. There is a wall plaque bearing an inscription.
It is housed on the top floor of a building where the ground floor is a cafe. From the collections of the museum the following is standing out: Local traditional costumes, household utensils, coins, historical documents, such as documents and books and the library of Irini Nafpliotou, the first doctor of Lesvos.